A pumpkin outcome

At this time of year I think the edible results from the allotment look far more impressive than the allotment itself, even if I do keep accidentally eating everything before I get a chance to photograph it to boast of all my ‘triumphs’.

01

I was quite successful with climbing beans this year, these are Borlotto Lingua Di Fuoco and indeed, I did choose them because they look pretty. They seemed to take a while to actually do anything (especially germinate), but I was very glad when they did.

02

I harvested the rest of the sweet potatoes – as predicted, it wasn’t a huge harvest by any means, but it was enough to prepare a couple of meals, and I was glad I gave them a go at least.

But the most exciting allotment outcome was that MY PUMPKIN SURVIVED LONG ENOUGH FOR ME TO EAT IT. And I might have a couple left in the allotment too, just a bit smaller. After my complete paranoia that the largest would just rot overnight, I finally took it home with me last weekend and made my first pumpkin pie. To be honest, it’s not the best pie I’ve made by a long way, but baking’s never been among my talents (and I fully intend to eat it). I also carved my very first pumpkin, I’ve named her Theresa.

Here’s a photo to prove that I don’t only eat pie:

img_20161024_181449

Yet another positive thing about having an allotment is that you can supplement massive great salads like this and eat them as full meals and use that as an excuse for pouring cake and cider down your throat whenever possible.

4

And finally a picture to remind me that while Northumberland might not be the best environment in which to grow sweet potatoes, it’s not a bad environment in which to live at all. Nearly four years since I moved here and I think it was one of my wiser decisions.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.