Harvest in full swing

A lack of updates this month has been due partly to the fact that I’ve been busy digging up and storing (and eating) industrial quantities of vegetables, but mostly because my state-of-the-art photographic apparatus is being repaired after some idiot (me) broke it.

I’ve been able to soldier on against this self-made misery though and take the odd picture. Observe a couple of the harvests:

14080040_10101634204263962_1698676917430765764_n

14370374_10101682068309032_6103100856955815382_n

I’ve not been overly convinced by this year’s tomatoes, I have to say. At least they grew, but so many got blight and more just never ripened, and I think if I try again next year I’ll really have to research what I’m doing wrong. The blackberries though – the ones that survived the frequent visits from next door’s stray chickens – are delicious. I’ve had broad and climbing beans coming out of my ears, resulting in me making large quantities of sweet potato and broad bean soup. The sweet potatoes, alas, did not come from my allotment, although there’s still time for mine to grow.

The soup was delicious, even if I did get a LITTLE sick of it the third day running. This week’s been very quiet work-wise, so keen to control what I can of my finances and ensure I at least don’t starve, I headed to the allotment to see what’s happened to the parsnips.

As we know, I was concerned that when I harvested the parsnips there’d be nothing below the ample greenery, and my first tester attempts proved more or less correct – there was enough for the odd small batch of parsnip chips but not much more. Turned out that the parsnip patch was hiding the hardcore members of its community in the centre of the patch.

20160923_164021

The one on the right in particular terrified me as it resembled Cthulhu rather than a vegetable:

20160923_164039

But it’s currently making yet another batch of soup, this time using this recipe. I still have half the parsnip patch left to dig and I’m a little bit concerned about what I’ll unearth. But excited too.

5 thoughts on “Harvest in full swing

  1. O wise gardening one: do you know when sweet potatoes are meant to be ready to harvest, and how to tell? Our plants seem fairly extensive, but I don’t know anything more than that…

    (Nice to read your updates, by the way – and our tomatoes all got blight too)

    1. O alas, would that I knew! I’d guess because it needs quite a long season, you’d be harvesting before the frosts come in, so maybe roughly three week’s time (or adjust as necessary because Northumberland is not really representative of the rest of the country). I think it’s a good sign that your plants are extensive, though! You could always try to dig a limited amount and see what’s going on?

Leave a Reply

