Flowers and berries

I’m always surprised by how quickly things start growing once summer’s finally underway, even if I do complain about how late flowers bloom up here. This is how quickly things have grown in the last eight weeks:

Capture

ZOOM. I did away with the remaining leeks and planted pumpkins there instead. This picture doesn’t show the happy state of the eight obelisks, just visible in the left-hand picture, because the raspberry patch has gone crazy as usual. Thankfully, I have photographed certain elements thereof:

My original plan was to grow one particular type of sweet pea per obelisk, resulting in a kind of monocolour scheme. That’s not going to happen because I didn’t grow enough surviving seedlings and had to supplement the ones that did survive with seedlings from Homebase. I bought some successful seeds of the Mollie Rilstone variety from Matthewman’s Sweetpeas, and I’m hoping they’ll bloom soon too. All in all it’ll probably be nicer to have a variety of colours, nice to have a bit of diversity on the old allotment.

IMG_20160710_123222

This week also saw the reappearance of an old friend, the borage! It’s not growing entirely where I predicted, but I don’t mind because it’s great and useful. I’d never even heard of it before getting an allotment and I think it’s a bit of a typical flower among allotmenteers, but honestly it’s one of my favourite things to grow. Not just because bees love it, but also because I like casually nibbling on flowers.

The tayberries have started to appear too. There have never been enough to do more than eat then individually, but one day I’ve decided I’m having tayberry pie.

Leave a Reply

